Howto disable the reboot message after you install Windows updates

Posted on Wednesday, Jun 28 2006 @ 01:10 CEST by Thomas De Maesschalck
Here's a computer tip of the day to turn off th, I noticed it over at Digg.com and it's pretty useful. It learns you how to disable the annoying message which asks you to restart your computer after it has downloaded some new Windows updates.
And there are only two options: Restart Now/Restart Later. "Restart Later" means that this stupid thing will ask you again in 10 minutes. Yes, if you're willing to work for the next 4 hours until lunch before rebooting, this means you'll need to answer this question 24 times. Did I mention that the dialog steals the focus?

Now, to get rid of it: Start / Run / gpedit.msc / Local Computer Policy / Computer Configuration / Administrative Templates / Windows Components / Windows Update / Re-prompt for restart with scheduled installations

You can configure how often it will nag you (I re-configured it for 720 minutes, which means I'll be asked twice on a work day), or completely disable it.
However, you'll still need to reboot your computer to change this setting. If the message is on your screen right now you can get rid of it by stopping the "Automatic Updates" service.

Source: WDevs.com.


About the Author

Thomas De Maesschalck

Thomas has been messing with computer since early childhood and firmly believes the Internet is the best thing since sliced bread. Enjoys playing with new tech, is fascinated by science, and passionate about financial markets. When not behind a computer, he can be found with running shoes on or lifting heavy weights in the weight room.



Loading Comments