Intel Wolfdale and Yorkfield frequencies unveiled

Posted on Sunday, Aug 05 2007 @ 21:49 CEST by Thomas De Maesschalck
Here's some info about Intel's upcoming 45nm Wolfdale and Yorkfield processors, like the clock speeds. One of the other interesting things is that with this new processor generation the difference between Intel's regular and Extreme Edition CPUs will be a lot bigger - a 1GHz difference in clockspeed!
Wolfdale is a dual-core, single-die processor core with integrated 6MB of L2 cache, and the clock-speeds in play are 2.33 and 2.66GHz. Since these rely on the 1.33GHz FSB,the multiplier is set at 7x333 for the 2.33GHz part and 8x333 for the 2.66GHz one.

Yorkfield is simply what Conroe was to Kentsfield: two Wolfdale dies are placed onto single Socket 775 organic package - so the amount of L2 cache is doubled to 12MB. And, right now, two things are being tested, the 2.33GHz and 3.33GHz models, with respective multipliers. The 2.33GHz part uses 7x333, while the 3.33GHz Extreme one works at 10x333.

As it stands right now, it looks like the difference between the regular version and the Extremes will be more pronounced. Unlike the original Conroe and Kentsfield with a difference of a mediocre 266MHz, Yorkfield EE is clocked at 3.33GHz with 12MB of L2 cache, while the fastest regular Yorkfield is set at 2.33GHz, a clear 1GHz difference in clock.
Source: The Inq

About the Author

Thomas De Maesschalck

Thomas has been messing with computer since early childhood and firmly believes the Internet is the best thing since sliced bread. Enjoys playing with new tech, is fascinated by science, and passionate about financial markets. When not behind a computer, he can be found with running shoes on or lifting heavy weights in the weight room.

Loading Comments