DV Hardware - bringing you the hottest news about processors, graphics cards, Intel, AMD, NVIDIA, hardware and technology!

   Home | News submit | News Archives | Reviews | Articles | Howto's | Advertise
DarkVision Hardware - Daily tech news
January 20, 2018 
Main Menu
News archives

Who's Online
There are currently 83 people online.


Latest Reviews
Arctic BioniX F120 and F140 fans
Jaybird Freedom 2 wireless sport headphones
Ewin Racing Champion gaming chair
Zowie P-TF Rough mousepad
Zowie FK mouse
BitFenix Ronin case
Ozone Rage ST headset
Lamptron FC-10 SE fan controller

Follow us

Intel gains in supercomputer list

Posted on Saturday, November 17 2007 @ 12:21:30 CET by

An updated list of world's fastest supercomputers has been released. The fastest of the pack are powered by IBM chips but Intel processors are in 64% of the computers on the list - the highest it ever had.

Rival AMD has its chips in 16% of the top 500 supercomputers, down from 21% a half year ago.
The list, published twice a year by academic researchers, once again was topped by an IBM Corp. supercomputer in the Lawrence Livermore national nuclear lab. The BlueGene/L system, as it is known, was recently upgraded and showed the ability to perform at 478 teraflops _ 478 trillion calculations per second.

That's tens of thousands of times faster than your average desktop PC today.

The No. 2 performer was an IBM supercomputer in a German research center that came in at 167 teraflops. No. 3 was a 127-teraflop system made by Silicon Graphics Inc. for the New Mexico Computing Applications Center.

For the first time, India placed a machine in the top 10: a 118-teraflop Hewlett-Packard Co. system in a research center run by Tata Sons Ltd. in Pune, India.

IBM accounted for 46 percent of the computers on the list, while HP had 33 percent. That reversed the standing on the last list, in June, when HP became the leading manufacturer in the top 500.
Source: NewsWeek



DV Hardware - Privacy statement
All logos and trademarks are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2017 DM Media Group bvba