DV Hardware - bringing you the hottest news about processors, graphics cards, Intel, AMD, NVIDIA, hardware and technology!

   Home | News submit | News Archives | Reviews | Articles | Howto's | Advertise
DarkVision Hardware - Daily tech news
January 18, 2018 
Main Menu
News archives

Who's Online
There are currently 97 people online.


Latest Reviews
Arctic BioniX F120 and F140 fans
Jaybird Freedom 2 wireless sport headphones
Ewin Racing Champion gaming chair
Zowie P-TF Rough mousepad
Zowie FK mouse
BitFenix Ronin case
Ozone Rage ST headset
Lamptron FC-10 SE fan controller

Follow us

Two Chinese ISPs serve 20 percent of all broadband subscribers

Posted on Saturday, July 31 2010 @ 00:16:58 CEST by

ARS Technica has written a piece about the top broadband Internet service providers. One of the interesting things is that two Chinese ISPs serve 20 percent of all broadband subscribers in the entire world, China Telecom is world's largest ISP with 55 million subscribers, followed by China Unicom with just over 40 million users. The third place also belongs to an Asian ISP, but the gap is pretty big between the Chinese ISPs is pretty big as Japan's NTT is ranked third with just 17 million subscribers, and it's expected that the gap will continue to increase as the Chinese market is growing very rapidly.
Telegeography has updated its world Internet service provider database and finds that the sheer scale of China dwarfs just about everyone else. China Telecom is the largest ISP in the world, with 55 million subscibers. Second is China Unicom, with just over 40 million.

And both companies continue to grow, even as growth slows significantly in more developed markets. Telegeography notes that each Chinese firm added nine million users in the last year—"equivalent to the entire broadband subscriber base of Verizon."

Every other ISP trails dramatically. Japan's NTT comes in third with 17 million subscribers, and all US providers are smaller still.



DV Hardware - Privacy statement
All logos and trademarks are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2017 DM Media Group bvba