DV Hardware bringing you the hottest news about processors, graphics cards, Intel, AMD, NVIDIA, hardware and technology!

   Home | News submit | News Archives | Reviews | Articles | Howto's | Advertise
DarkVision Hardware - Daily tech news
April 26, 2017 
Main Menu
News archives

Who's Online
There are currently 97 people online.


Latest Reviews
Zowie P-TF Rough mousepad
Zowie FK mouse
BitFenix Ronin case
Ozone Rage ST headset
Lamptron FC-10 SE fan controller
ZOWIE G-TF Rough mousepad
ROCCAT Isku FX gaming keyboard
Prolimatech Magnetic Pin

Follow us

Windows 8 to use sandbox modes

Posted on Wednesday, April 06 2011 @ 19:52:44 CEST by

Microsoft watcher Mary-Jo Foley reports Windows 8 will use LowBox, a sandbox environment with five different security "buckets".
Immersive apps, from a developer standpoint, are those which will conform to the new Windows App Model that will be built into Windows 8. Immersive apps will adhere to Windows 8’s conventions around registration, package composition and software state. These kinds of apps will run in the Windows 8 “LowBox,” which is the new Windows 8 security sandbox, I’ve heard.

With Windows 8, Microsoft developers are thinking about different types of apps and experiences as being in different buckets, I’m hearing from my contacts. Web apps (I’m assuming HTML5-compatible ones) are considered “Bucket 3″ apps. Immersive apps are “Bucket 4.” Legacy or “classic” managed and native apps are considered “Bucket 5.” What are in buckets 1 and 2? So far, I don’t know. Anyone?



DV Hardware - Privacy statement
All logos and trademarks are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2017 DM Media Group bvba