DV Hardware - bringing you the hottest news about processors, graphics cards, Intel, AMD, NVIDIA, hardware and technology!
   Home | News submit | News Archives | Reviews | Articles | Howto's | Advertise
DarkVision Hardware - Daily tech news
June 19, 2019 
Main Menu
News archives

Who's Online
There are currently 187 people online.


Latest Reviews
Ewin Racing Flash gaming chair
Arctic BioniX F120 and F140 fans
Jaybird Freedom 2 wireless sport headphones
Ewin Racing Champion gaming chair
Zowie P-TF Rough mousepad
Zowie FK mouse
BitFenix Ronin case
Ozone Rage ST headset

Follow us

Titan supercomputer to heave 14 592 NVIDIA GK110 GPUs

Posted on Wednesday, September 12 2012 @ 13:50:11 CEST by

HPC Wire reports Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) has received the first batch of NVIDIA's Tesla K20 GPUs for its new Titan supercomputer. The lab's scientific computing chief, Jeff Nichols, confirmed that 32 NVIDIA GK110 based GPUs have been installed in the development platform. When the supercomputer is finished, it will have 18,688 nodes AMD's 16-core core processors and 14,592 NVIDIA Tesla K20 GPUs. Each node will have 32GB of memory, supplying 2GB per processor core. The system is anticipated to be ready by March 2013 and promises to deliver peak computing performance of 20 teraflops.
When all is said and done, the Titan supercomputer will perform at an estimated 20 peak petaflops. This will be achieved with 18,688 nodes running the latest 16-core AMD CPUs and 14,592 K20 GPUs. Each node will have 32 GB of memory, supplying 2GB per CPU core.

The upcoming system is expected to provide some healthy competition to the Sequoia supercomputer at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. Sequoia is currently ranked first in the world in total performance (16.32 Linpack petaflops) and energy efficiency (2,100 megaflops/watt). Titan has a shot at topping Sequoia in both categories.



DV Hardware - Privacy statement
All logos and trademarks are property of their respective owner.
The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2019 DM Media Group bvba