Intel Core i7 Haswell-E processor series detailed

Posted on Tuesday, May 27 2014 @ 16:23 CEST by Thomas De Maesschalck
Details of Intel's upcoming Haswell-E processor lineup hit the web. Expected to be launched later this year, this new high-end Core i7 series will consist of three models; the Core i7-5820K, Core i7-5930K and Core i7-5960X. Despite sticking to the LGA2011 form factor, Haswell-E requires a motherboard with the new X99 chipset due to support for DDR4 memory.

First up is the six-core Core i7-5820K, this chip will likely cost under $400 but it's unknown whether it will support HyperThreading. It has a 3.3GHz clockspeed, an unknown Turbo Boost, 15MB L3 cache, and an unlocker BClk multiplier. The only downside is that the PCI Express configuration is limited to 1x16 + 1x8 + 1x4.

Next up is the Core i7-5930K, this six-core chip may have HyperThreading and should cost around $600. It has a 3.5GHz core clockspeed, unknown Turbo, 15MB L3 cache and support for 2x16 + 1x8 PCIe.

The Core i7-5960X is the flagship model, this eight-core definitely has HyperThreading and features 16 logical CPUs. The stock frequency is limited to 3.0GHz though but you do get 20MB L3 cache an 2x16 + 1x8 PCIe.

All three Haswell-E processors have a 140W TDP rating.

Intel Haswell-E specifications

Source: TPU

About the Author

Thomas De Maesschalck

Thomas has been messing with computer since early childhood and firmly believes the Internet is the best thing since sliced bread. Enjoys playing with new tech, is fascinated by science, and passionate about financial markets. When not behind a computer, he can be found with running shoes on or lifting heavy weights in the weight room.

Loading Comments