Intel defines seven product categories

Posted on Saturday, May 24 2008 @ 05:46 CEST by Thomas De Maesschalck
The Inquirer writes Intel has carved up the world into seven product categories.
The ranges go from Atoms under $249 to fire-breathing Quads over $1200. These ranges comprise the Intel-Retail-World-As-We-Know-It-Program, also known as IRWaW-ChIMP. Here you have the lineup for 2H/08.

The low end is of course the Atom range up to $249, and it is a "Simple device for web-browsing". The CPU is an Atom 230 (1.60GHz) teamed up with the smashingly adequate 945GC chipset, 512M of memory and an 80G HD. The OS choices include XP and Linux, Vista is not an option. This means the category is the one safe one offered by Intel.

Going up from there, we have $350-450 Celeron category. It can have one or two cores, and the standard bearer is an E1400 on a G31, a Gig of memory, and a 160G HD. The Broken OS is the only choice here, but you have to wonder how MS allows this, G31 does not qualify for 'premium' status. What was horse-traded this time?
Read more over here.

About the Author

Thomas De Maesschalck

Thomas has been messing with computer since early childhood and firmly believes the Internet is the best thing since sliced bread. Enjoys playing with new tech, is fascinated by science, and passionate about financial markets. When not behind a computer, he can be found with running shoes on or lifting heavy weights in the weight room.

Loading Comments