DV Hardware reviews

   Home | News Archives | Reviews | Articles | Howto's | Advertise
 
DarkVision Hardware - Daily tech news
June 25, 2017 
Main Menu
Home
Info
News archives
Articles
Howto
Reviews
 

Who's Online
There are currently 92 people online.

 

Latest Reviews
Zowie P-TF Rough mousepad
Zowie FK mouse
BitFenix Ronin case
Ozone Rage ST headset
Lamptron FC-10 SE fan controller
ZOWIE G-TF Rough mousepad
ROCCAT Isku FX gaming keyboard
Prolimatech Magnetic Pin
 

Follow us
RSS
 

Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse

As laptops are growing ever more popular, more people are looking for a notebook mouse. It's perfectly possible to control a notebook with its trackpad but everyone who has used a notebook for a couple of hours will know that these trackpads aren't really convenient. A real mouse is still a lot more comfortable to use and therefore more and more people are in the market for a notebook mouse.

As not everyone wants to spend a lot of money on one of the more expensive notebook mice like the Logitech VX Revolution or the new VX Nano, I'll take a look at one of Logitech's cheaper offerings: the Logitech V220 notebook mouse.

The V220 is a small mouse with a 1000 dpi optical sensor. Logitech describes it as a mouse with an ergonomic design with soft rubber grips and a convenient mini-receiver which snaps into the mouse for easy transport.

The Logitech V220 Cordless Optical mouse arrives in this box:



The box is quite small and features the mouse, the USB receiver, one AA battery and the installation guide. A CD-ROM with the Logitech SetPoint software isn't included, if you want to use this software you'll have to download it on Logitech's website.





Before we move on to the review he's a quick look at the features of the V220:

Comfort and Control
  • Ergonomic design with soft rubber grips: Increases your comfort with non-slip rubber side panels that also add control. A ridged wheel provides a better grip for scrolling.

    Convenience
  • Extended battery life: Enjoy up to 6 months of battery life (and longer with automatic on/off). Battery power indicator eliminates surprises.
  • Easy transport: The mini-receiver snaps into the mouse, turning it off.

    Performance
  • High-definition optical technology: The 1000 dpi optical sensor makes the Logitech V220 Cordless Optical Mouse two and a half times more responsive than standard optical mice.
  • Side-to-Side Scrolling plus Zoom: Perfect for viewing digital photos and spreadsheets. Instantly zoom in and out; scroll horizontally or vertically.

    Now lets take a closer look at the mouse.



    This is the USB receiver, just plug it into your laptop and you're ready to go. It's not necessary to install the Logitech SetPoint software but it's recommended so you can use the more advanced features like horizontal scrolling or if you want the change the function of the mouse's buttons.



    Like most notebook mice the V220 is quite small but it fits pretty well in my hand. Unfortunately the mouse doesn't feature a lot of buttons, it only has a left and a right click button with a ridged scrollwheel between them. The thing I'm missing a bit are two extra buttons on the left side of the mouse which you can use for tasks like previous/next or minimalize/maximalize.

    The scroll wheel is multifunction and can be used for horizontal scrolling. Or if you don't really need horizontal scrolling you can use it for other tasks like to adjust the sound volume or zooming.



    Both sides of the mouse feature non-slip rubber for better control.



  • Added: July 25th 2007
    Reviewer:
    Score: 8.5/10
    Related Link: Logitech
    Page: 1/2



    [ Back to Reviews Index | ]






    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2012-06-19 04:09:41
    My Score: 10/10
    We have had this rugged little mouse for four years with no problems at all. It's amazing it even works at all with all the falls to the hardwood floor it takes, It flies to the floor at least 4-5 times a week. We are not clumsy people, we just forget it's there when we get up off the couch and recliner. : )

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2011-02-01 19:35:06
    My Score: 10/10
    The battery goes in flat base first. to reset the mouse after installing new battery.

    Hold left mouse button down and keep pressing it down. Turn mouse off and then on again with little switch on back. Then while still holding the left button down, press the right button 5 times, Then release the left button and it should now be reset.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2010-10-20 21:01:23
    My Score: 10/10
    thomas,
    Thank you for the photos and clear language in reviewing and installing a new battery. The battery life for his mouse
    is excellent.

    RH

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2010-09-14 19:05:46
    My Score: 10/10
    I've had this mouse for about 3 years, and I have not had any problems. It is an excellent mouse. Even when the battery is dying. I can still use it to do what I need to do. I have used it from about 9-10 feet away with no problem. I haven't tried it from further away. I don't understand what these people are talking about who say you can't use it from any distance. I also don't understand all of this nonsense about the battery case. It is a little tricky. But it would take a chimp about 90 seconds to figure it out. It took me about 30 seconds. After that it's easy to open it. The only minor complaint I have is that it is small for my hands. I am 6' 5". Other than that, I couldn't ask for a better mouse.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2010-08-30 16:47:15
    My Score: 10/10
    ... bought a used cordless Mac G4 like-new iBook for $208 + shipping off Amazon and wanted a cordless mouse to match. Found a "refurbished" and guaranteed V220 Logitech cordless mouse for $9.95 + shipping on Amazon and went for it. It arrived wrapped in a small plastic bag with a cable accessory. No instructions. Took it out of the bag, slipped the little USB/receiver thingy off the bottom of the mouse and saw a tiny off/on switch, a button that said "reset," and another button with a battery symbol printed on it. figured it must have something to do with the battery so I pushed it and the battery cover popped right off, revealing an empty battery compartment and the symbols "AA" and a + sign at one end. This suggested that I should insert an AA battery with the positive terminal at the end indicated by the + sign. Nothing indicated that I should then snap the battery cover back on; I kind of figured this one out all by myself. I stuck the little receiver thingy into a USB port of the laptop and the mouse moved the curser perfectly. I can also use the trackpad while the mouse is operational. The mouse wheel scrolls both up and down and to both sides, and the clicker clicks. In short, the mouse works flawlessly and I'm happy as a hog in sh- ... er, ... slop. I'm not too bright and I'm certainly no computer geek, but I figured out this mouse with no instructions in about 30 seconds. Here's hoping the thing doesn't crap out on me next week because I've had nothing but good experiences with Logitech products.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2010-08-09 08:15:37
    My Score: 5/10
    Its really confusing regarding opening the battery component. However, finally opened it by pressing hard on the button at the back-side of the mouse and simultaneously sliding the top.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2010-08-09 08:13:06
    My Score: 6/10
    Its really confusing regarding opening the battery component. However, finally opened it by pressing hard at the button on the back-side of the mouse.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2010-07-26 20:42:22
    My Score: 10/10
    For my version of the v220 I took a flat precision screwdriver and popped the top cover off by leveraging it next to the black button on the top where the crease goes across the top of mouse. The battery is there and it just lifts out. No need to take out the phillips screw unless you want to clean the wheels and buttons for better performance as dust and hair builds up inside over time.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-13 18:15:50
    My Score: 10/10
    MarJos01. acabo de comprar el Mouse v220 pero no me funciona en mi portatil podrian ayudarme y me guien para hacerlo funcionar

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-14 01:28:22
    My Score: 9/10
    Bought the mouse for my asus notebook 1005ha and it works as well as expected. Good buy for the money and I been on computers since 1989 know my way around. For the price I am not complaining but wish the zoom did not zoom in or out so fast, could be my computer or windows 7 and the mouse can only do what it is allowed to do

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-15 02:41:22
    My Score: 1/10
    Absolute POS! Ran for about five minutes and then the receiver refused to see the mouse at all. Total CRAP. Good thing is I won't wonder about Logitech anymore. First time sets a very very bad impression.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-11-02 22:19:52
    My Score: 10/10
    10x to the comments here on placing the battery, just got mine and the instructions coming with it are useless.

    In the end with allot of pressing and the use of a knife tip i opened the battery compartment :)

    Not a great start to my experience with this model.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-30 07:03:37
    My Score: 10/10
    For the first 6 months, the mouse was wonderful. But now it is not working at all, though, followed all troubleshoot instructions given at the logitech web.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-03 02:20:19
    My Score: 10/10
    In a word CRAP very limited range so if you want to use it to control your PC from a distance greater than 2m forget it. So forget using it to control media players from your lounge or a PowerPoint presentions from a lecturm.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-19 14:49:13
    My Score: 7/10
    I had some trouble opening the battery compartment: you have to press on that little button really hard! I used a pen like someone here mentioned, and the panel finally opened from the bottom of the panel. The enclosed paper said I would have to download to get the scroll wheel to work, but it's working now without download--might be a different version of the same thing.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-06 23:37:13
    My Score: 4/10
    When it was working it was a good mouse but after just 6 months the USB receiver failed and I needed to get a new mouse. This time went with a different brand

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-04 15:00:14
    My Score: 10/10
    My mouse lasted three days then it stopped scrolling. sending it back!

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-03 18:54:49
    My Score: 10/10
    I have have used same mouse for over 18 months and have had no prolblems with it. Though it will not work on glass and on black surfaces you must put paper underneath it for it to work.
    I have renamed my mouse bounce, because I cannot count the number of times that I have dropped it and it continues to work.
    So over all am quite pleased with it.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-22 08:35:10
    My Score: 6/10
    My mouse worked great for the first 3 months. Now double click stop responding

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-11 06:15:22
    My Score: 9/10
    this mouse click problem may be dirt(dust in the mouse have you tried taking it apart and cleaning it?

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-08 00:24:28
    My Score: 10/10
    This V220 was treated just like an umbilical cord when I first purchased it ( I think I paid around $50. ish dollars for mine. Where I went, it went UNTIL...ONE DAY it took control and now I can use my mouse only when the mouse wants to work.
    I have changed the battery, tried all four USB ports. When I finally get it started (sometimes by removal from port and back in again.) it stops again almost immediately. The mouse didn't come with a booklet with trouleshooting.

    When it works it is absolutely wonderful, I'm getting another one for my tower

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-25 18:12:48
    My Score: 10/10
    For all the people who dont know how to change the batterys, theres a little button underneath with a little battery picture on it press that n the top pops off then theres the battery compartment there.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-23 20:15:49
    My Score: 10/10
    Excellent review!

    All readers/contributors may like to know that I had the "Dead Left Button" problem right off the wrapping, with a twist. The mouse works fine (wow! so responsive), then hell breaks loose and I can't select or start anything. Restarting Vista clears the problem, but it seems to re-appear a few seconds after rebooting. Weak battery? Strong radio interferences? Dunno.

    Quite frustrating, as I wanted a mouse to avoid using the trackpad. I consider using a real cheap, wired mouse instead.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-26 05:59:31
    My Score: 10/10
    Good review and very useful comments under it. My mouse was good for six months. Now I experience the same problem with the left mouse button - it makes double-click instead of single especially if I hold the button down for a while. So I cannot select items and I can't drag n drop. Maximum working range is 2 meters. Poor quality for a Logitech mouse. I would not recommend it to anyone.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-06 14:26:25
    My Score: 10/10
    whoops, sorry. great review.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-06 14:25:21
    My Score: 8/10
    Its a wireless mouse. whats the distance it works on?

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2009-05-05 05:56:23
    My Score: 9/10
    My mouse worked great for the first 6 months or so. The battery lasted that long. When it begun to die, I started having problems. I changed the battery, but the problem continued. It doesn't seem to recognize when I click and when I release the mouse buttons. I have tried all the tricks up my sleeve and asked for help from others, but no one seems to be able to solve this problem. I wouldn't say that all of them have this problem, because I have only used one, but the one I have doesn't work very well.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-12-24 19:26:04
    My Score: 7/10
    Mine has problems with the left button and double clicking and drag and dropping. Submit a warranty request with logitech if you have these issues. They're pretty helpful if you're very specific.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-12-19 22:54:06
    My Score: 5/10
    I loved this mouse for awhile. I had a red warning light on it for a few weeks and the battery finally died today. I can't get it out to put a new one in. And no, I don't have the $$ to toss the mouse out and go buy a new one, like another person suggested.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-12-10 13:48:42
    My Score: 10/10
    Great mouse for a notebook, kind of small to use for desktop. Got mine quite cheap, accurate, has 3 buttons, and the side to side movement of the wheel gives 7 button functionality in total, making it a cheap alternative for now to the 100 dollar mice I want. The 7 button use is good if FPS games, better than only having 5 buttons. Works great with Linux, automatically picks it up fine. However, no special software by Logitech for Linux, but I found the Logitech software to be crap any ways, just sits and hogs your ram, and with most people using Vista, do we really need much more Ram to be hogged?

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-11-12 21:15:24
    My Score: 3/10
    This mouse is great and i agree with most of the comments ...for the first 6 months...then after that i started having issues with the currsor not tacking with the movement of the mouse... you move the mouse all over and the cursor does not pick it up.. very frustrating. i sent an email to logitech asking them for some help..they gave me several things to try, which i did and they were to no avail.. i am actually still dealing with them.. asking for them to send me a new one.. so we'll see what a couple days bring.. for the price of the thing and to keep a customer happy they should just replace it.. but i don't think that will happen.. will keep you guys updated

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-10-28 19:27:38
    My Score: 10/10
    I love this little mojse. I found I needed to use the blunt end of a pen to press the battery compartment button firmly enough to have it pop open. After that, a quick battery change had me back in business. Battery lasted about a year.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-10-19 05:14:26
    My Score: 6/10
    Overall, I like this mouse however, I ran into the a problem with two separate mice: the mouse's ability to double click stopped working on each. The first mouse I had for about a year before this happened. I then went out and bought another one to replace it. 4 months later the replacement mouse ended up doing the same thing.

    I read that this happened to another person as well.

    Interesting that it happened to me twice.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-08-23 16:35:22
    My Score: 10/10
    Incredible little thing works 100% once you download the software & take the time to customize the settings. very easy to set up with loads & loads of easy customizable functionality (& I'm no expert) For £14.99 you just don't need to spend anymore

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-08-08 06:42:34
    My Score: 10/10
    my best mouse .. the battery has a long term to work and play ..

    with a nice price too !!

    buy in Indonesia last month with Rp 275.000 / about $ 29.9


    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by cliff5550 on 2008-07-26 18:53:38
    My Score: 10/10
    Love this mouse. No drawbacks. No problems. Just plugged in and went on line. I just recently purchased this mouse and came across here while looking for reviews. After reading so many comments about problems with replacing the battery, I tried. Again, no problem. Pushed the bottom button; the compartment came open; fit fingernail under exposed end of the battery; lifted; and out came the battery.
    Bottom line: This mouse is a no-brainer. Bought it cheap at Wal-Mart, brought it home and plugged it in, turned on the computer, and ready to go. Where's the problem people?

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-07-22 14:14:48
    My Score: 10/10
    The mouse worked like a charm the first week. Now the left click isn't functioning properly. I can't double-click, I can't click on any scroll boxes and I can't click on any buttons on a web page. I downloaded the SetPoint software and it didn't help. Has this happenned to anyone else? Is there a solution? It's a shame because I really like the mouse...when it works. Help - ogc999@aol.com

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-06-25 06:27:39
    My Score: 10/10
    Very nice laptop mouse. Re: difficulty finding the battery compartment: This is a feature for the V220, It's cheap enough where it can be readily disposed after the b attery runs out. No need to replace it yourself! Check on ebay for a used one with the battery already installed.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-06-16 08:41:20
    My Score: 10/10
    I bought this mouse to use with a brand new laptop and I luv the mouse, it is exactly what I was after !!
    The battery compartment is very easy to access and downloading the software was a doddle !!
    The software also lets you know wht the battery status is which I find a bonus !!
    Would recommend this mouse to anyone who needs a small portable, easy to use mouse !!

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-06-15 03:23:52
    My Score: 9/10
    I cannot seem to download the software to use zoom & side to side scrolling. HELP. I want to use the most of this mouse but can't

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-06-02 19:10:50
    My Score: 10/10
    I can open the compartment fine its the getting the battery out that's the prob. It's lodged in there so tight I cant get it out without tearing the wrapping off my battery.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-06-02 05:40:57
    My Score: 10/10
    The mouse works great. No skips, freezes, etc. I love it. I did have some trouble getting the battery door off as the button on the bottom was not releasing. I am not computer illiterate. It was a mechanical malfunction, which I was able to fix and open.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-28 07:43:26
    My Score: 10/10
    wow i cant believe people can t open the battery compartment. the button on the bottom is the first thing i pushed and the compartment popped right off. Must be computer illiterate folks. I havent used it too much yet and was just looking for some reviews on it. My girlfriend bought it for me today and i love logitech products so lets hope i have no problems with it.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-20 23:20:44
    My Score: 10/10
    The mouse worked fairly well for a while. I dropped it and after that I had major problems. So I bought a new V220 mouse. Guess what I'm still having problems with freezes, erratic movement and left mouse clicks not releasing not working properly. I installed the Setpoint software and it didn't help a bit. Like one of the other posters, I'm ready to bounce the little bugger off the wall.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-05-16 06:55:27
    My Score: 6/10
    I'm having a lot of trouble with consitency--as the last commenter wrote...freezing, erratic, non-responsive. Battery is good. Is it the optical eye? Is there a remedy? It is very frustrating to use. Worked well first few months, now is so bad, we do work-arounds (use arrow keys when possible). Big pain.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-04-03 17:35:59
    My Score: 10/10
    Can anyone tell me my "wonderful Logitech" mouse skips, hesitates, freezes, and in general is a frustrating pain in the ass to use? First 3 days out of the box was OK, then the "honeymoon ended" and I feel like throwing it off a wall just to watch it smash into pieces. Note: nothin in the world pisses me off more, or faster than a mouse/keyboard that works erractically.


    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-03-30 13:31:55
    My Score: 10/10
    I love it ! its 1000dpi response is more then enough for work. I got 2 months of usage a single duracell battery, (avg use 32-35hrs a week!!)

    for those who have no idea how to open the battery cover you should push the button that looks like a battery. I hope that helps and i jsut wanna take the oppurtunity to say that drugs are bad for you...

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-03-28 14:11:33
    My Score: 9/10
    I bought my V220 mouse yesterday. I think it's great, although, I don't agree that the range is about 3 meters. I would say that at 1.5 meters it loses contact. Ok, so what, you ask. I do power point presentations and hoped my pocket didn't have to stretch as far as a proper remote. Ho Hum!

    Down load the software is a serious 20 minute Mission, and then if you say you don't need Bluetooth, it says you are on the wrong program! Logitech needs to waken up!!!

    Nine out of ten for the mouse.
    one out of ten for the software, which I still can't access!!!

    Any shortcuts to access the software, please?

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Thomas De Maesschalck on 2008-02-10 18:53:48
    My Score: 10/10
    Yeah the battery life of the V220 is amazing. Most mice give only a couple of days or a week at most but this mouse can go on for months on a single battery.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-10 18:47:06
    My Score: 10/10
    I initially had the same problem with being unable to open the mouse compartment to replace the mouse. I would flip the mouse over and cradle it in one hand while pretty the release button with the other. The way I was holding it was preventing the lid from popping up. Once I gripped it on the sides and then pressed the release button, the compartment popped right open.

    LOVE this mouse! I have 2 of them. The battery life is far superior on this model than an earlier Logitech wireless notebook mouse I owned.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-02-02 17:02:03
    My Score: 10/10
    Can someone tell me why I cant right click on my otherwise wonderful mouse

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2008-01-13 14:16:37
    My Score: 10/10
    What are you guys talking about? All you have to do is press the battery button on the bottom of the mouse and the battery compartment will pop right open.

    I love this mouse. Works great for traveling.

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2007-11-25 22:26:27
    My Score: 1/10
    It is impossible to open the mouse to change the batteries. Ted Jacobsen @ tedjacobsen@rogers.com

    Logitech V220 Cordless Notebook Mouse
    Posted by Anonymous on 2007-08-20 05:37:45
    My Score: 2/10
    I bought a V220, it came with a V200 manual. The method of opening the battery compartment are different. Logitech doesn't post manuals on the web. The picture in this post is the best I've found; but I can't seem to get the batter compartment open. The inability to change batteries makes this unit useless.

     

    DV Hardware - Privacy statement
    All logos and trademarks are property of their respective owner.
    The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2002-2017 DM Media Group bvba